Discussion: My Perfect Fantasy Book

discussionRecently, I was thinking about some of the aspects that make up my favorite books. What common themes or tropes do I love in various genres? Over the next few weeks, I’ll be talking about some different genres I read (like romance, contemporary, dystopian, sci fi) and what my favorite books in that genre have. It’ll be a little like assembling the perfect book for that genre! Today, I’ll be talking about my perfect fantasy book.

Some of my favorite YA fantasies include:

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden, #1)Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles, #1)

Things I’m Looking For in a PERFECT YA Fantasy:

  1. A well developed world system. Logically, I want everything to make sense, but I also want it to be revealed to the reader in a slow manner. I hate info-dumping with pages and pages of world building. Most of the time, fantasies feature a character entering into a brand new world, but I also like it when they are already involved in the world (i.e. Vampire Academy).
  2. Strong characters. Fantasies need that perfect blend of a character that is well suited to showcase the world and vice versa. I love it when they compliment each other, seeming like both gain something from each other. I always am on the lookout for why that particular character was chosen to tell this story.
  3. Concise, clear action scenes. I hate when these are a jumbled mess with characters and fighting everywhere. I want to be able to see everything just like a movie scene. Keeping the characters straight is important.
  4. And on that note, having a clear and distinct villain. Villains are essential to a good fantasy. I want them to have good motivation, a strong appeal, and to be well developed. Just like the main character must be of the world, so must the villain.
  5. A beautiful writing style. Some of my favorites are so atmospheric that they draw me right in – like Camp Halfblood or the London Shadowhunter Institute. I want to be completely involved with the world.
  6. A captivating story. This is something that makes me put the whole real world aside and want to keep jumping back with these characters. It is totally involved and immersive. I want to never put the book down.

What qualities are you looking for in a YA fantasy?

name

4 thoughts on “Discussion: My Perfect Fantasy Book

  1. Oh nice! I really like the sound of this series of posts! I don’t necessarily need my villains to be clear and distinct, though… I mean, I like knowing who they are, but I don’t mind mystery surrounding them or a villain who isn’t an actual person, more an idea or a place, something like that.
    Fantasy is so versatile, though, and when it’s original and captivating I’m not all that worried. x

  2. Pingback: 2015 End of the Year Book Survey | Neon Yeti Reads

  3. Pingback: Discussion: My Perfect Supernatural Book | Neon Yeti Reads

  4. Pingback: Discussion: My Perfect Historical Fantasy Book | Neon Yeti Reads

Leave a comment