Neon Yeti Writes: Update #1

neon yeti writes

Hello everyone and welcome to a brand new monthly feature on my blog, Neon Yeti Writes!

After participating (and failing) in NaNoWriMo this past year, writing became a much bigger goal for me. It’s not even that I necessarily have a dream of getting published, but I would like being able to say that I have written an entire novel. It might take me a while (and it definitely will), so I have decided to document some of my adventures, the good and the bad, into these monthly update posts all about my writing life.

This could include a talk about my progress, my problems, upcoming ideas, or any new inspiration that I might have found. Of course, closer to November, this will include more NaNo prep, but one key to writing is writing year-round. Thus, we are starting now, at the beginning of this year!

Personally, I didn’t actually write that much in January! I know 😦 This was just a starting point for the year and the semester, but I have thought some about where I would like to write and when would be the best time to fit it into my busy schedule. I have also been throwing around some ideas and the best format in which to write them (perspective, tense, etc). I promise that future posts will have some more for me to talk about here!

Today, I’ll be linking up to Cait and Sky‘s Beautiful People’s writer’s feature! I won’t be doing this every month (or maybe I will, who knows!), but I LOVED these questions and figured they would be a good place to start this year.

PAPERFURY

  1. What were your writing achievements last year? Well, I attempted NaNoWriMo and succeeded more than I ever have so far. I didn’t win (yet!), but I found a really great community from doing it and convinced myself that it is something I want to do and work on in the future.
  2. Tell us about your top priority writing project for this year? I’d really love to finish one novel, even in just it’s barest draft form. The current one that I am starting is a YA sci-fi about intergalatic spies. It’s a pretty complex world system and that is something I am working on before I even begin!
  3. List 5 areas you’d like to work the hardest to improve this year. I think finishing something is a big one! Also, finding my writing voice, making characters sound different, giving all my characters struggles to overcome, and pacing.
  4. Are you participating in any writing challenges? Not right now, but we will see what the year brings!
  5. What’s your critique partner/beta reader situation like and do you have plans to expand this year? Currently, I don’t have one, as I haven’t written anything. I could see myself possibly finding one by the end of this year, but that’s way in the future!
  6. Do you have plans to read any writer-related books this year? Or are there specific books you want to read for research. I very recently read Paper Hearts by Beth Revis and it helped SO MUCH. Highly suggest if you are looking to do something in the writing world, no matter what stage. I think reading more sci-fi is really helpful just in general.
  7. Pick one character you want to get to know better, and how are you going to achieve this? I’m always attracted to writing very strong, witty female leads, but they always end up as being Mary Sues. For this, I want to work more on planning out the character and seeing them as multi-faceted before I start writing.
  8. Do you plan to edit or query, and what’s your plan of attack? Once again, I’m just a baby duck in this whole writing thing! Maybe by the end of the year I will be in edits, and I plan to follow Susan Dennard’s advice for that.
  9. Toni Morrison once said, “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”  What are the books that you want to see more of, and what “holes” do you think need filling in the literary world? I want to see more YA sci-fi (so, that’s what I’m writing) as well as having longer books with lots of characters. Another thing I want to see is more diverse romance and different types of female leads, including some that aren’t necessarily strong or are strong in different ways. And of course, different voices, diversity, and using typical formats in new ways!
  10. What do you hope to have achieved by the end of 2016? My main goal is to have written, from beginning to end, a whole novel! It doesn’t have to be good, and it most likely won’t be, but just having some words on pages is all I’m looking for to start.

 

7 thoughts on “Neon Yeti Writes: Update #1

  1. Ooh GOOD LUCK WITH THIS!! Writing a novel from beginning to end in a year is a GRAND goal and I’m totally rooting for you!! *gets out encouraging chocolate* I would like to see more YA sci-fi too! I’m always dubious as to whether I love it or not? But I think that’s because I’ve literally only read a few books. :O (Not counting things like dystopian and such.) I want to read more space operas. ;D
    Thanks for joining in the linkup!

Leave a Reply

