Top Ten Tuesday – New Year’s Resolutions

top ten tuesday key

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by Broke and Bookish. This week’s theme is bookish/blogging resolutions! I was actually just preparing to do a post on this when I saw that it was also a TTT topic. I love making New Year’s Resolutions and everything that has to do with coming into a clean, fresh year. Here are some things that I am hoping to get done both with blogging and reading:

Read 70 books. This is not nearly as much as I generally challenge myself to read, but I have a pretty busy year coming up and I want to focus on those types of things this year instead of reading. It doesn’t mean that I will not be reading as much, just that I know that my time for it will be cut down and I want to adjust this goal accordingly.

Stop requesting ARCs. I find that requesting ARCs gives me too much scheduling in my blogging life. I really want to be able to read when I want to and what books I want to without having a due date for them. Plus, my backlist is so big that I don’t really need any more!

Post everyday Monday – Friday. This is something that I have always aimed for, but when it gets really busy, tends to go to the wayside. I hope that I will be more consistent and post every weekday (except for holidays).

Stick to a blogging schedule. Although I don’t like ARCs because it forces me to read on a schedule, I am fine with having a blogging schedule of posts! I just made my very first one that takes me through March, so hopefully I can stick to it. This should also help (hopefully) with writer’s block.

Post less reviews. Reviews are the one thing that have always tripped me up on blogging. Before, I reviewed pretty much every book that I read, but I want to cut that back. It always has made blogging hard because I don’t get a lot of discussion on those posts and I am generally held back by them. I just want to review books that I want to talk about and have some valuable thoughts on!

Read more diversely. After looking at my reading statistics for the past year, I found that I thought I read diversely when I actually didn’t. So, I want to do more of this while also cutting down my TBR.

Read books that are outside of my comfort zone. By this, I mean nonfiction, adult, and fantasy books. Often, I enjoy them when I read them, but I never do because I like sticking to contemporary!

Read more debuts! I had a great time reading and interacting with the debut authors of 2015, so I want to do that even more in 2016.

Be more active on TwitterThis is a goal that I always work towards, but it is just not my favorite social media platform. It really is the only one that I use regularly though, and see other people use regularly, so I want to be more involved with the book community there.

Focus on the backlist. I have a giant TBR that often gets ignored for new releases and ARCs. By cutting back on both of those this year, I hope that I can get to more of the books that have been sitting there for more than 3 years now.

What are some of your resolutions? Any tips to help me stick with mine?

name

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – New Year’s Resolutions

  1. I love your resolution to stop requesting ARCs and post less reviews. I really need to stop requesting ARCs. It seems like a good idea at the time but when I get them, I feel like I have to read it so I wind up not wanting to anymore. Book reviews always fill me with anxiety because I never know what to write about it unless I felt strongly about it one way or the other.

  2. I completely agree on the posting less reviews one. At one point I was reviewing every. single. book that I read but it’s pointless. The whole point of my blog in the beginning was to discuss books. I don’t think every book will create a discussion though.

Leave a Reply

