January 2016 TBR

It is time to kick off another new year of reading! This month, I have a 10 book TBR because I can get a lot done with the beginning of a new semester and some breaks. Anyway, here is what I have planned to read this January:

The Madman’s Daughter (The Madman’s Daughter, #1)     I Love Him, I Love Him Not (Westgate Prep #2)     Ink (Paper Gods, #1)

Confess     The Moor's Account     Uncommon Criminals (Heist Society, #2)      My Drunk Kitchen: A Guide to Eating, Drinking, and Going with Your Gut

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #1)     Why Not Me?     Beyond the Red

  1. The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepard – This book sounds really interesting! It is two of my favorite genres, being both historical fiction and a retelling. I have also seen plenty of good things about it, although the horror/suspense aspect is a little out of my comfort zone.
  2. I Love Him, I Love Him Not by Ella Martin – I really enjoyed Ella Martin’s first book in this series and am looking forward to how she spins another story based on Sleeping Beauty in the modern times. Plus, I’ve heard it also includes some of the characters from the first book!
  3. Ink by Amanda Sun – I have had this on my TBR FOREVER. It’s essentially about Japanese mythology and art, which really intrigues me. It is something I have never seen done before, but I am all about that (as you can tell from this whole TBR so far!)
  4. Confess by Colleen Hoover – So, Sarah Dessen is kinda known as the queen of YA contemporary, and I think Colleen Hoover is probably the same for NA contemporary. I have never read any new adult before, but I think this will be a good place to start.
  5. The Moor’s Account by Laila Lalami – Going along with reading outside of my comfort zone, this is an adult historical fiction. It is all about a Moroccan slave who comes to America as a conquistador. This book has won plenty of awards too, even being a finalist for the Pulitzer!
  6. Uncommon Criminals by Ally Carter – I did a really good job with keeping up with some of my series last year, and I want to continue that in the new year. This is the sequel to the Heist Society series and they are always fun and action packed.
  7. My Drunk Kitchen: A Guide to Eating, Drinking, and Going with your Gut by Hannah Hart – I have read quite my share of books by YouTubers last year as well, some I liked and some I didn’t. Recently, I have been watching more and more of Hannah’s videos, so I will give her book a try too!
  8. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – Another book that has sat there with Ink forever. I really like the idea of this book, but it kind of freaks me out. Time to conquer that fear!
  9. Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling – I love reading Mindy Kaling’s books. She has a very smart, witty voice and I cannot wait for more lessons and personal advice from her.
  10. Beyond the Red by Ava Jae – I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this! I just read the first couple pages so far, but I can tell there is going to be lots of science fiction/space/action – some of my favorites!

That’s it for January! Let’s hope I can get to all of them. What do you want to read this month?

name

5 thoughts on “January 2016 TBR

  1. A nice, mixed list here. Hope you manage to get through them all! My mission for January is to read as many of my Kindle books as I can, as I always seem to neglect my e-reader in favour of paperbacks!

  2. I hope you get to all of these! The Mara Dyer trilogy is on my TBR as well. I hope to finish my current read The Iron Trial, and read Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout and The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. 🙂

  3. INK has been sitting on my shelf since it was released, and I feel super guilty every time I look at it. I should have read it by now! Maybe I should make a goal to read as many of the books I own as I can in one year. Although I already know that wouldn’t work out because I have little to no self control when it comes to requesting shiny new books, haha XD I hope you like it!

    The only book I’ve read on your list is THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER, and I have to say it isn’t really that scary! There is a certain creep factor to it, but that’s it. But I have been called untrustworthy when it comes to these things because I watch horror movies for fun, haha XD Still, it’s definitely worth the read to get to meet Noah! He’s a great character.

    I hope you can read all of these books, and that you like them!

  4. Pingback: February TBR | Neon Yeti Reads

Leave a Reply

