Review Mashup (4) feat. Sekret, Fahrenheit 451, and more!

Sometimes after I read books, I don’t have enough to say for a full review post. In order to review every book I read, I’ve decided to start compiling these books into review mashups every so often. For this post, I have a classic, an adult fiction, a nonfiction, and a YA historical fiction!

The Happiness Project: Or Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More FunThe Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin – Published Harper 2009 – Genre: Nonfiction – Format: Paperback

I wasn’t too happy with this book. I liked the idea behind it and the methodology. Rubin decides to work on a few goals each month until the end of the year to see if it improves her happiness. I didn’t really buy it though. I think that this process could really work, but the book didn’t sell me on it. I hated the writing style and it was hard to get through. Some of the things she decides to do didn’t really make sense and I’m not sure what exactly I was reading. It was okay, but not life changing. I wanted more out of it, but the writing kept me from truly enjoying it.

938bc-pawprint d8ee9-pawprint

We Are All Completely Beside OurselvesWe Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler – Published Putnam’s Sons 2013 – Genre: Adult Fiction – Format: Paperback

I’m so split on this book. I had to read this one for school, and maybe it was my fault for not reading the summary, but it took a twist I did not expect and after that I was never really on board. I love the main character Rosemary and her family, especially because of all their quirks. They all felt very realistic. I didn’t understand some of the stances that were taken in this novel and I never liked some of the other characters like Lowell and Harlow. While reading the book, I did not enjoy it. I only liked the beginning and the end. However, I feel myself thinking about this book a lot and wanting to go back to it…

8dfc7-pawprint 38c69-pawprint d8ee9-pawprint

Fahrenheit 451Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury – Published Voyager 1953 – Genre: Adult Dystopian – Format: Paperback

I liked this book okay. The plot was very interesting and I loved the beginning. It started to drag for me a little bit though because the world building is very slow, the characters are not very dynamic, and there are so many metaphors to dig through. The writing style reminded me a lot of another classic dystopian, 1984 by George Orwell (which is one of my all time favorite books). The ending was amazing and really captured my attention. Overall, I liked this book but it wasn’t the best thing I’ve ever read. I do really like Ray Bradbury as an author though and some of his short stories are SO GOOD.

38c69-pawprint 8dfc7-pawprint d8ee9-pawprint

Sekret (Sekret, #1)Sekret by Lindsay Smith – Published Roaring Brook 2014 – Genre: Young Adult Historical Fiction – Format: Hardback

I really liked the plot of this book – Russian KGB with psychics. Very cool. I felt that some parts were lacking, particularly the magic system. All of the psychics have different powers, some of which never made sense to me. The Russian elements were cool and I felt captivated the whole. I had to see what happened next and that kept me reading. I liked the romance and the main character, but I didn’t totally love them. I’m excited to see what happens in the next book, but this one wasn’t too memorable for me.

8dfc7-pawprint 38c69-pawprint d8ee9-pawprint 938bc-pawprint

Leave a Reply

