Top Ten Tuesday: Fairytale Retellings

top ten tuesday key

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by Broke and Bookish. This week’s theme is fairytale retellings! I’ll be showing you my top 5 favorites that I have read and then 5 on my TBR. I’ve also included some classic literature and mythology retellings. Let’s get started!

Top 5 Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read

Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West (The Wicked Years, #1)     Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)     Tiger Lily     Fairest of All: A Tale of the Wicked Queen     The Isle of the Lost (Descendants, #1)

  1. Wicked by Gregory Maguire – This is a retelling of the Wizard of Oz. It’s most well known for being a Broadway play too!
  2. Cinder by Marissa Meyer – This entire series features different fairytales like Cinderella, Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel, and Snow White.
  3. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson – This is Peter Pan retold from the perspective of Tinker Bell, featuring on Tiger Lily. A little confusing, but one of my favorite books!
  4. Fairest of All by Serena Valentino – This is Snow White told from the perspective of the Evil Queen and giving her a little bit of backstory.
  5. Isle of the Lost by Melissa de la Cruz – This is about the children of villains from 101 Dalmatians, Snow White, Sleeping Beauty, and Aladdin. 

Top 5 Fairytale Retellings I Want to Read

Second Star     Splintered (Splintered, #1)    The Madman's Daughter (The Madman's Daughter, #1)     Antigoddess (Goddess War, #1)    The Beast Within: A Tale of Beauty's Prince

  1. Second Star y Alyssa B Sheinmel – Another Peter Pan retelling!
  2. Splintered by AG Howard – This is an Alice in Wonderland retelling.
  3. The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepard – This is a retelling of The Island of Doctor Moreau, which I actually haven’t read!
  4. Antigoddess by Kendare Blake – This is a retelling of Greek mythology!
  5. The Beast Within by Serena Valentino – This is the sequel to Fairest of All, and tells the backstory of the Best from Beauty and the Beast. 

What were your top ten this week? I really liked using this chart from Epic Reads to help me discover new books and look at some old favorites.

name

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Fairytale Retellings

  1. I am so happy to see Tiger Lily on another person’s list. I really enjoyed that version of the story.
    I have the Madman’s daughter on my TBR list as well.
    And another list that has Cinder. I really think i will have to try this one out soon.
    Great list 🙂

  2. Ooh I added a bunch of these to my shelf! I love Peter Pan retellings for one. The Serena Valentino books sound super interesting to me!

Leave a Reply

