Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag

Hello everyone! Today, I decided to do the Burn, Rewrite, or Reread tag! I’m not sure who this was created by and I haven’t been tagged by anyone but it looked like fun. I’ll be doing five rounds where I randomly select 3 books per round off of my Goodreads ‘read’ shelf. Then, I’ll be choosing one to burn, one to rewrite, and one to reread! Let’s get started!

Round 1

City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments, #2)City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)The Isle of the Lost (The Descendants #1)

Burn – City of Ashes. Honestly, I don’t remember too much about what happened in this book…I think it was my least favorite of the series though (from those I’ve read).

Rewrite – City of Bones. There was a lot of tropes and plot things that didn’t work for me in this, but I did like the overall world building. Plus, Clare’s writing style just doesn’t jive with me very well.

Reread – The Isle of the Lost. I really liked this fun play on Disney characters and it seems like a great middle grade read. I only read it recently, but I could see coming back to it for something light and easy.

Round 2

Just One Day (Just One Day, #1)Prisoner of Night and Fog (Prisoner of Night and Fog, #1)City Love

Burn – City Love. I enjoyed this book, but I LOVED the other two in this category. 😦

Rewrite – Just One Day. I LOVE this book, so this is hard for me. But Gayle Forman could rewrite it and it would still be beautiful.

Reread – Prisoner of Night and Fog. This is one of my favorites of all time, so I would love to pick it up again. Especially knowing how everything turns out and being more aware of the real history.

Round 3

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking, #1)Onyx (Lux, #2)Let's Get Lost

Burn – Onyx. I felt like this was a filler book to lead up to the rest of this series. While I enjoy the entire Lux series, this has been my least favorite so far.

Rewrite – Let’s Get Lost. There were just some minor things I would like to spruce up about this book because I feel it could be a favorite if it weren’t for some details.

Reread – The Knife of Never Letting Go. I really liked this book, and I need to reread it anyway to continue on with the series.

Round 4

Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2)Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #2)

Burn – The Sea of Monsters. I love the Percy Jackson series but this was my least favorite, plus I love the other two more!

Rewrite – Mockingjay. Maybe some of my favorites can survive this time around??

Reread – Siege and Storm. My favorite of the Grisha trilogy. It’s really fun and action packed. Plus, Sturmhond.

Round 5

Belly UpWhite Space (Dark Passages, #1)This Shattered World (Starbound, #2)

Burn – Belly Up. I liked this one, but Stuart Gibbs still has other amazing books I can read.

Rewrite – White Space. This book has a very Inception-like quality to it where you never know what is going on. I think that it could be improved with some more details to ground it in reality.

Reread – This Shattered World. I love this series and it’s a great example of beautiful sci-fi. I can’t wait for the last in this trilogy!

And that’s the tag! I hope you all enjoyed this. Some of these were super challenging for me (*cough* Round 2 *cough*) and I’m happy I don’t actually have to burn some of these beautiful books. Let me know if you would have decided differently for any of these in the comments.

Now, I am going to tag Stefani from Caught Read Handed, Julien from The Fictional Reader, and Jade from Bedtime Bookworm. I hope you all decide to participate because this is a fun (and challenging) tag!

name

2 thoughts on “Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag

  1. Thanks for tagging me! This tag looks really hard haha! I”ll need to start brainstorming soon 🙂 I really want to read The Knife of Never Letting Go, I hear nothing but amazing things about that series and about Patrick Ness!

  2. Pingback: Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag | The Fictional Reader

Leave a Reply

