Vendetta by Catherine Doyle Review

Vendetta (Blood for Blood, #1)

Vendetta by Catherine Doyle (Blood for Blood #1)

Published Chicken House 2015

Genre: Young Adult Mystery

Format: Kindle ebook

b38bc-coollogo_com-221351400When it comes to revenge, love is a dangerous complication.With a fierce rivalry raging between two warring families, falling in love is the deadliest thing Sophie could do. An epic debut set outside modern-day Chicago.
When five brothers move into the abandoned mansion in her neighbourhood, Sophie Gracewell’s life changes forever. Irresistibly drawn to bad boy Nicoli, Sophie finds herself falling into a criminal underworld governed by powerful families. As the boys’ dark secrets begin to come to light, Sophie is confronted with stinging truths about her own family, too. She must choose between two warring dynasties – the one she was born into, and the one she is falling in love with. When she does, blood will spill and hearts will break.

029c6-coollogo_com-9181998I’m so happy to have found this book and this debut author. After assembling a Top Ten Tuesday list about debuts of 2015, this one came up on that list and I have been excited about it ever since! I went into the book mostly blind about the entire plot, not knowing much except that it was about revenge. I would really suggest that method if possible, because all the crazy turns were so much more exciting.

My favorite thing about this book was the intense mystery. We don’t know much about the history of the Gracewells or the new family, but we know that Sophie’s dad is in jail for a mysterious crime. Sophie is a regular teen girl in Chicago, with a job and a recently disturbed home life. I liked her immediately, as well as her relationship with her best friend. Nicoli is a different story, a much darker bad boy type character. However, I found him really intriguing too. I was a little worried I would get the five brothers confused, but that never happened for me.

There are many different turns in this book, so I don’t want to get too much into the details of the plot. However, I will say that it is very fast paced, action packed, and kept me on the edge of my seat. I always had to know what would happen next as we unravel the tale of Sophie and Nicoli and their families. It’s a little Romeo and Juliet – esque, but with some thrilling elements. I have read quite a few revenge novels in the past few years, and while I am typically tired of the tropes that come with them, this had an unique take on the idea.

This was a really great debut novel! I am looking forward to continuing on with the series, especially after having all the feels while reading this one. I would suggest this to fans looking for a really exciting mystery.

938bc-pawprint d8ee9-pawprint 38c69-pawprint 8dfc7-pawprint

Leave a Reply

