Armchair BEA: Social Media

abea

Welcome to Armchair BEA day 2! While I’ve thoroughly enjoyed looking at the great times had by some of my favorite blogger friends at BEA on Twitter, I have been having a good time with all of y’all participating in Armchair BEA as well.

Social Media

I have a love/hate relationship with social media – as I’m sure many of you do too. Anyway, I have a Twitter, Goodreads, and Instagram and I think that is enough for me! I have no idea how some of you manage all of that plus Facebook, Tumblr, Pinterest? I just like to keep it simple with three platforms.

Twitter – I am on Twitter so much! I like seeing all the book pictures and the conversations going on around the community. It has been a great way for me to meet new blogger friends and discover new books that I want to add to my ever growing TBR pile. The two downsides of Twitter for me have been the amount of drama that can easily be commented on and the access to authors. Over the past year, there has been more drama on the book blogging community than normal, with everyone seemingly chiming in with their own opinions. I’ve taken some time to think before posting tweets, but it’s so easy to form an opinion and broadcast it to the world with social media. Plus, it raises awareness of issues both good and bad. I might never have known about some author scandals without Twitter and its involvement in my reading. And with that, interacting with authors has good and bad involved. It makes me build relationships with authors I love or whose books I am looking forward to reading – but it’s not always fun when I don’t like an author’s book and they follow me on Twitter. The balance between being a book blogger but also being professional is really heightened on Twitter. Anyway, I actually do love Twitter a lot. Especially the #booksfortrade hashtag. And book chats – like the one happening tonight for ABEA!

Goodreads – Maybe my favorite. It’s great to see what my friends are reading and their reading plans. I love it for trying to find people with similar opinions on a book you loved or hated without having to go through a huge blog archive. I also like it to keep track of my own reading – when I started or finished books, what books I want to read next, or suggestions for newer books. Recently, I have especially been taking advantage of the Goodreads list options to find a book close to something I’m in the mood for, and the ability to create plenty of new shelves! I love organizing my Goodreads page! Any downsides? Well, I’m still hoping for half stars.

Instagram – This is my newest and because of that, I forget about it a lot. However, when I remember to scroll through it, I love seeing everyone’s beautiful book photography. My problem with posting is that I don’t have too many physical copies of books and I read mostly from the library or ebook. I have been using it more recently to post TBRs of readathons I’m joining!

Anyway – I do love social media for all its ups and downs. Connecting with bloggers from all over the world has been a great experience and I’ve been able to make so many friends from there, and then find their blog, or vice versa.

What social media are you on? What do you think of your various platforms?

name

12 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Social Media

  1. I should do more on Instagram because my students use that a lot, but it devolves into being a lot of pictures of my dog curled up with whatever book I am reading… and E ARCs don’t photograph well. I don’t get Twitter, but I think that’s because I only check it once a day on a desktop computer. Goodreads is a handy tool for me, but I don’t really think of it as social media! You are smart to stick with just three platforms.

  2. Looks like you’re getting everything I want out of Twitter! SO hard to find! I think I followed a lot of the wrong people. I want to see book covers and great conversations, too!

  3. I’m the same about half-stars on Goodreads. I feel like it shouldn’t be such a pet peeve for me, but it kind of is. I’ve managed to to find a corner of twitter that’s pretty calm, all things considered, but I know there can be drama.

    My ABEA post.

  4. Hi Katherine! You brought up a really great point about Twitter. I hadn’t thought about it, but I agree with you. There has been so much about author drama that’s came up, that I would’ve been totally oblivious to without Twitter.
    I talked in my video about how I use Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads the most.

Leave a Reply

