Armchair BEA 2015 Day 1: Intro and Library Love

Armchair BEA Headquarters

Hello everyone! This year, I’ll be participating in Armchair BEA, because I won’t be able to make it up to New York for the real BEA. This event looks just as fun, and I’m really excited to join in.

Introduction Question

1. If you were stranded on a deserted island, what author would you want to bring with you? Why? I would bring either Amie Kaufman or Meagan Spooner, because after writing These Broken Stars, they would probably have some survival skills up their sleeves.

2. What is your theme song?

 

3. What is your favorite genre and why? I really love YA contemporary because the stories are really powerful, but they can also be sweet and romantic. It allows for so many different parts of life to be told.

4. What book are you reading right now? I’m currently reading The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving by Jonathan Evison. It’s a road trip book, but other than that, I don’t know too much about the summary.

5. What book are you most looking forward to reading this summer? Kissing in America by Margo Rabb! This looks like the perfect book for me. 

Library Love

I love my library because most of the books I read are from my local library! We have branches all throughout my city, which makes it really easy to transfer books between or visit a different one for a change. I also love how technologically advanced we are, from an app to request books or pay fines, to all types of quick checkout services. Also, there are so many services rather than just books that I’ve been trying to take advantage of more often! But back to the books, my library has a great selection filled with new releases and backlist books. Everyone there is really nice and it’s a very welcoming place to get work done or read.

name

 

10 thoughts on “Armchair BEA 2015 Day 1: Intro and Library Love

  1. I am glad that you have a great community library. I love libraries and try to visit them in every town that I go to for the first time. Unfortunately our community doesn’t make the library a priority and it is drastically underfunded and staffed with people who don’t like reading. Eek.
    Frozen is a great theme song.
    Happy ABEA week. I look forward to your posts.

  2. I LOVE your theme song, I think I will have that as mine too.(if you don’t mine 😉 ) Its a song to instantly make you smile.
    I love libraries too, mine is great with fab staff there too who are so helpful. I don’t think they have as much choice of books as yours sounds like, but they are always willing to take requests.

  3. Urban libraries rock. I love how the different branches have different flavors, if you will. I love how mine now gives you a 30 day grace period before fining you for overdue materials. And that they just instituted a policy where you can renew materials ten times in a row as long as no one has a hold on it!

Leave a Reply

