My Favorite Books: Quiet

I was recently asked about my favorite book – only ONE. For any book blogger, this question is pretty much a nightmare. However, I went with my first gut reaction, although it might seem a little out of accord with what I typically talk about on my blog and within my reading in general. For the most part, I love young adult fiction, yet my favorite book OF ALL TIME is not. In fact, it’s nonfiction. And that book is:

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking

I cannot explain to you all the ways this book has influenced my life.

I’m not an introvert, but maybe I’m not an extrovert either. I have tendencies of both, but I find personality psychology so fascinating. This book presents all the information in such a captivating and informative way. There are plenty of facts about introversion and society’s idea of the extrovert, but it is told almost like a story. As I’m rereading it now, I see so many little stories as she goes along her journey to meet other psychologists.

“Or at school you might have been prodded to come “out of your shell”—that noxious expression which fails to appreciate that some animals naturally carry shelter everywhere they go, and that some humans are just the same.”

The best part of this is that it taught me to look at people in a different manner. The idea of this book is that all people, given the tools to help them succeed and not put into a stereotypical character box, can and will lead. It challenges the idea that the extrovert is always better. It breaks down barriers and the stereotypes of quiet people everywhere – something that I think most readers will appreciate.

“Spend your free time the way you like, not the way you think you’re supposed to.”

Everything about Quiet speaks to me – as a history lover, as a psychology lover, as a storyteller, as a dreamer. The stories in this book are powerful and moving. Because not everyone needs the same things when working, when thinking, when socializing. It’s about accepting yourself for who you are, something everyone needs to hear at least once. Quiet is about breaking down social barriers and being comfortable within yourself. It’s an inspirational message.

“The secret to life is to put yourself in the right lighting. For some, it’s a Broadway spotlight; for others, a lamplit desk. Use your natural powers — of persistence, concentration, and insight — to do work you love and work that matters. Solve problems. make art, think deeply.”

I’m going to keep talking about some of my favorite books, highlighting previous books I’ve reviewed or books I read before blogging. It’s amazing how much books can affect us and that’s something I’d like to highlight more often here on my blog.

name

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Books: Quiet

  1. I’m really looking forward to this feature continuing! I really liked the way you described this book and it sounds like it’s incredibly important to you. Discussing introverts and extroverts is such an interesting subject for me to listen in on, and talk about, really, because it’s seeing how others view themselves and how you might have seen them, and taking on and giving ideas about personalities and self expression. I also find it so interesting that as I’ve got older, being an introvert isn’t something that’s really pointed out anymore. I don’t know if that’s because being an adult people don’t care if I’m quiet and withdrawn, like they might more so when you’re a child and they want you to socalise, or if respect is being gained, in general, for the quiet people, but it’s interesting to watch. I do hope it’s the latter. That introverts and extroverts can be accepted and respected equally.
    Lovely post, Katherine! xx

    • Thanks! I’m looking forward to picking more favorites. I think personality psychology is really interesting because it affects so many interactions. I agree – as a child, it’s definitely pointed out more, but there is still some of that, although less obvious, when an adult. I keep hearing this brought up more too, so I’m glad the conversation has been started!

Leave a Reply

