Review and Giveaway: Love Lucy by April Lindner

Lucy_Cover high res

Love, Lucy by April Lindner

Published Poppy January 27 2015

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Format: I received a copy of this book for review consideration from the publisher and FFBC Tours. This did not affect in any way my opinions in this review. The giveaway is being hosted by FFBC.

Book Links: Goodreads – Amazon paperback – Barnes & Noble (B&N) – Book depository – iTunes

9ebf8-coollogo_com-221351400While backpacking through Florence, Italy, during the summer before she heads off to college, Lucy Sommersworth finds herself falling in love with the culture, the architecture, the food…and Jesse Palladino, a handsome street musician. After a whirlwind romance, Lucy returns home, determined to move on from her “vacation flirtation.” But just because summer is over doesn’t mean Lucy and Jesse are over, too.

In this coming-of-age romance, April Lindner perfectly captures the highs and lows of a summer love that might just be meant to last beyond the season.
22a99-coollogo_com-9181998
I love when books take me away to an entirely new world – whether that world be a totally different sci-fi spacey universe or across the ocean into Italy. This one was the former. Just like any of the Stephanie Perkins’ books, Love Lucy puts you write in the middle of Lucy’s explorations of Italy. This was my favorite part about this book. We get amazing, beautiful descriptions of the places Lucy visits in Italy, from the countryside to Rome. All of it was described so realistically that I really felt like I was there, traveling right alongside Lucy. In fact, I was dreading the second half of the book that was set back here in the States, although in Philadelphia. Not to worry! I loved Lucy’s transitions to college life and all of the super great female friendships in this book.
Most of the book is about the romance between Jesse and Lucy. Lucy meets Jesse in Italy, and although she is told multiple times that it was just a vacation romance, she just cannot seem to move on. For me, this part of the book lacked the most. I never really connected to Jesse or shipped Lucy and Jesse. Their relationship was not intriguing or interesting for me. Lucy mostly fell for Jesse in a bout of insta-love, and within their relationship, there is some cheating and really, a ton of insta-love type moments.
Lucy was a great character and I liked her relationship with her parents. They are definetely the over-bearing type of parents who do not want her to be an actress. And while I could relate to her parents, I was also frustrated with them. Their relationship was played out really well and I loved the way everything there worked out. I didn’t totally hate her parents, but rather sympathized with them, which is always welcome. All of the familial and friendship relationships in this book were so well done.
Overall, I enjoyed the settings and the family and friendships in this book! The only think that lacked for me was the main plot of Love Lucy, the romance. It frustrated me because of the heavy insta love. I would suggest this to fans of Stephanie Perkins, retellings of classic novels (although I never read the book it is bad on), and good wanderlust books!
4b94f-pawprint 938bc-pawprint 38c69-pawprint
About the Author:
high res author photoApril Lindner is the author of three novels: Catherine, a modernization of Wuthering Heights; Jane, an update of Jane Eyre; and Love, Lucy, due out in January, 2015. She also has published two poetry collections, Skin and This Bed Our Bodies Shaped. She plays acoustic guitar badly, sees more rock concerts than she’d care to admit, travels whenever she can, cooks Italian food, and lavishes attention on her pets—two Labrador retriever mixes and two excitable guinea pigs. A professor of English at Saint Joseph’s University, April lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and two sons.
Author Links:

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/119005.April_Lindner

Twitter: https://twitter.com/misadventure123

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/april.lindner

Tumblr: http://aprillindner.tumblr.com/

Google+: https://plus.google.com/110633613315102244487/posts

A playlist based on this book!

I love music, so I was super happy to be able to create a playlist of songs I love that remind me of this book. Here are the five songs that I came up with:

– Because Lucy was in a production of Rent in college!

– Summer love…plus some more show tunes.

– This song describes a part of their long distance relationship and some rocky situations for Lucy.

– So many decisions for Lucy!!

– Because ultimately, this is the advice from all her friends.

Giveaway!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

name

Leave a Reply

