Review Mashup (1) feat. Opal and A Great and Terrible Beauty

Sometimes after I read books, I don’t have enough to say for a full review post. In order to review every book I read, I’ve decided to start compiling these books into review mashups every so often. For this first post, I have the third book in a paranormal romance series and a new historical fantasy!

Opal (Lux, #3)Opal by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Lux #3)- Published Entangled Teen 2012 – Genre: Paranormal Romance – Format: Library

This book was pure fun, but not much else. Recently, I’ve become really aware of overused YA tropes and they have started annoying me more often. Daemon and Katy’s relationship throughout this book was so stereotypical of this type of book. I enjoyed it still, but I just wasn’t as into it. I found most of the romance scenes more funny and eye roll worthy rather than cute. Especially because so much of this book feels like a connector between the first two books of world building and the huge conclusion in the last two, it felt like we spent a lot of type with Katy and Daemon instead of with the cool alien stuff. Overall, it was just okay – but I have hopes for the next two in the series.

8dfc7-pawprint4b94f-pawprint8dfc7-pawprint

A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle, #1)A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray (Gemma Doyle #1)- Published Simon and Schuster 2003 – Genre: Historical Fantasy – Format: Paperback

Another book that was just okay for me. There were some points I loved and some points I wasn’t a huge fan of. I loved the beginning with all the world building, especially its start in India. There was such a great mysterious undertone to the whole story, especially when they got to the boarding school. It was only when they started settling in and Gemma started taking her classmates into the parallel universe. There was also a few other historical points that got lost in the shuffle, especially with all the different types of groups fighting between the two realities. Overall, this book had a very interesting concept. I really liked Gemma and her character development (although I wasn’t a huge fan of the romance) and the world. The rest of the series promises to be interesting.

8dfc7-pawprint 38c69-pawprint 4b94f-pawprint

name

 

2 thoughts on “Review Mashup (1) feat. Opal and A Great and Terrible Beauty

  1. I read the Gemma Doyle books back when they came out and loved them! That was when I was in…elementary school, so who knows what I’d think of them now. I’m curious to see what you think of the rest of the series!

Leave a Reply

