Top Ten Tuesday: Books from My Childhood I Would Love to Revisit

top ten tuesday key

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by Broke and Bookish. This week’s theme is books from my childhood I would love to revisit.

Because of Winn-DixieJulie of the Wolves (Julie of the Wolves, #1)Hoot

Mary Poppins (Mary Poppins, #1)Number the StarsMandyHoles (Holes, #1)

Elephant RunIsland of the Blue Dolphins (Island of the Blue Dolphins #1)FrindleEverything on a Waffle (Coal Harbour #1)

  1. Because of Winn Dixie by Katie DiCamillo – We read SO MANY books about dogs in elementary school and this one was probably my favorite, although I dreaded them all. Was it just my school that made us read something dog-related every year?
  2. Julie of the Wolves by Jean Craighead George – Another book that I don’t remember too much, but I do remember organizing my classroom’s library and finding this in it.
  3. Hoot by Carl Hiaasan – Carl Hiaasan was one of my favorite early authors, and I should really get into some of his adult work. This was about saving owls, I think.
  4. Mary Poppins by PL Travers – Mary Poppins is a classic, both of page and screen! I would love to do a reread and then compare with the movie, as well as Saving Mr. Banks. 
  5. Number the Stars by Lois Lowry – One of my first required reading books. This is about the Holocaust and I don’t remember too much. It would probably make me really sad to read it again.
  6. Mandy by Julie Andrews – This book has such a great wonder to it! I still have my first copy of it, although battered and bruised. Plus, it’s Julie Andrews so….
  7. Holes by Louis Sachar – Between the movie and the book, I really love this story. It deserves a reread.
  8. Elephant Run by Roland Smith – I remember so little about this book I almost don’t think I read it…it was when I was getting a little bit older (it’s in the YA/teen section of my book store).
  9. Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell – This was a classic and I still remember most of the basic plot points. I think it’s still a fascinating idea.
  10. Frindle by Andrew Clements – Andrew Clements was one of my favorite authors growing up, probably an aut0-buy author! This was a funny and unique story about creativity.
  11. Everything on a Waffle by Polly Horvath – I know, this is a top ten list, but while perusing Goodreads for these books, I saw this funny title and remembered my love for this one! It’s really funny and quirky and was a great re-discovery.

What are some books from your childhood you’d love to reread? Any of mine?

name

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books from My Childhood I Would Love to Revisit

  1. Holes! I loved that book, even though I had to read it for seventh grade reading, and I wasn’t really a fan of that class! I own a second-hand copy without the dust jacket, but it’s such a good book! Everyone should read it.

  2. HOOT. Oh my gosh, I remember that book! I read it in third grade I think and then the movie came out when I was in seventh grade and I was so excited, it wasn’t even funny. Owls have been one of my favorite animals for years, so I was super into that book. Great list!

Leave a Reply

