#LoveaThon Kick Off and Questionnaire

BANNER - 2015 LOVEATHON

The 2015 Book Blogger Love-a-Thon is hosted by the amazing Alexa Loves Books! For the next two days, there will be plenty of fun posts going up on my blog, Twitter chats, and activities to help spread the love around the book blogging community. To kick off this weekend, we were all given a questionnaire to answer on our blog so y’all can get to know us a little bit better. Let’s get started!

1. What’s your name?

My name is Katherine. I actually really like my name too, so that’s cool!

2. Where in the world are you blogging from?

I’m blogging from Kentucky, USA!

3. How did you get into blogging in the first place?

I started blogging two-three years ago on another blog (the dark ages…). After a while, I got kind of bored with it and stopped that one. A little bit later, I found a whole book blogging community that I hadn’t joined the first time, so I made another blog and started to get more involved. That’s definitely the way to go!

4. How did you come up with your blog name?

My blog name, Neon Yeti Reads, comes from my favorite color (all things neon) and my favorite animal (yeti). I think it’s a pretty fun name too.

5. What genre do you read and review the most on your blog?

Young Adult, but within that, probably contemporary. Recently, I’ve been branching out into fantasy and classics a little bit more than in 2014 though.

6. What other types of posts do you do on your blog, apart from reviews?

I do Top Ten Tuesday posts, discussions, wrap ups, TBRs, and plenty of posts from readathons that I participate in.

7. Best blogging experience so far?

Probably all the readathons I’ve been able to join over the years. From the Booktube-a-thon, where I’ve been reading 7 books during that week for the past two years, to all the Bout of Books (I was even a challenge host once!). They’ve really helped me stay excited about reading and cut down my TBR.

8. Favorite thing about the blogging community?

I really love the supportiveness and how everyone is super excited about books. I recently attended one of my first author visits and the excitement around books was similar to the way I feel about blogging. I love posting something and people commenting about what they thought or other suggestions for me.

9. Name the 5 books you’re most excited for this 2015!

  1. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas – even though I haven’t read Throne of Glass yet. But I’ll get to it sometime.
  2. Winter by Marissa Meyer. Really excited to see how it wraps up!
  3. Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins. Rebel Belle was great!
  4. PS I Still Love You by Jenny Han because TATBILB was one of my favorites of last year.
  5. Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver. I will read anything she writes.

10. What’s an underrated book or series that you think everyone should read?

I’m going with my number one favorite book of last year – This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales. It was a beautiful book that I love seeing other people read.

11. Which book boy or girl would be your book BFF?

Good question! Probably Julia from Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill. This is mostly because my real life best friend and I read this book together, and she said that the main character really connected with her. Julia is really realistic too!

12. Apart from reading, what are your other hobbies or interests?

I’m a dancer. I’m currently a student, studying so I can become a translator. I love shopping, particularly on Etsy. And I have a pretty extensive candle collection.

13. Apart from book shopping, what else do you like shopping for?

I love candles (as you can see above), anything on Etsy (particularly bookmarks and personalized phone cases), Vera Bradley (I could spend all my money in that store. Thankfully, I don’t), travel suitcases/luggage, and sundresses.

14.At a party, the DJ suddenly changes the song – and it’s your song. What song would be playing?

This is my jam.

15.Pick out either a book you want turned into a film/TV show, or a film/TV show you want turned into a book.

Okay so…I really want a movie of 172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad, although I would probably be too scared to see it. Maybe it would be okay since I read the book…but I don’t care, I need it. As for a film/TV show to book, probably Scandal. It would be a great thriller!

Those are my answers! How did you answer these? Are you participating in the Love-a-thon?

name

25 thoughts on “#LoveaThon Kick Off and Questionnaire

  1. Hi Katherine! It’s been great learning more about you!

    If you don’t mind me asking, ‘coz I’ve got some questions after reading your intro, why are yetis your favourite animals? What kind of dance do you dance? And what languages do you translate?

    I’ve never taken part in a readathon. I’m tempted to after seeing that they help you in your reading because I’m having difficulties finishing my reading nowadays 😦 Just don’t have the mood for it ><

    See you around! 🙂

    • Hey! I have no idea, but I’ve loved yetis ever since I got my first Yeti stuffed animal from Disney World. I do both ballet and hip hop styles of dance, which are very different worlds 🙂 I’m currently doing mostly Spanish, but I want to start French sometime soon. Readathons are super fun! I would really suggest you try one, just to see if it works with your reading style.

  2. Ohh, 172 Hours on the Moon, that’s a good one. I read that a while ago (a reread is in order, I think, because I can barely remember it!) and I remember really liking it. I’m a total space geek and it was just really exciting. But I think I would also be too scared to see it. Bookish problems!

    I’m also studying to become a translator, which languages do you study?

  3. Haha that’s funny, my bookish tastes went the opposite way. I started with fantasy novels and then branched out to contemporary 😉 I love how supportive everyone is in the bookish community too! I’ve had some rough moments but I can always count on my blogger friends to cheer me up. They’re the best. I can’t wait for Winter, ACOTAR was amazing. I really want to read This Song Will Save Your Life. A friend got it for me for Xmas, and I can’t wait to start it. Lovely getting to know you!

  4. I LOVE your blog name. I think it’s catchy and really interesting. What kind of translator will you be? What language(s)? I think that’s so cool! I’ve always thought the role of the translator was so important, and I’m currently (trying) to learn ASL. 🙂

  5. Neon Yeti Reads is such an adorable blog name! I love that it’s got a meaning that’s super personal to YOU. Also, you must read the Throne of Glass series (I love it so) and A Court of Thorns and Roses! I totally admire Sarah J. Maas for what she’s been able to accomplish with her writing, and can’t wait for you to experience her books as well.

    Thanks for joining the Love-a-Thon!

  6. YAY! Another southern blogger! How fun! (I’m in TN) The fact that your favorite animal is a yeti already makes you way cool in my book. 😉 Oh! You’re studying to be a translator? For what language? (I’m a Spanish teacher, but also majored in Italian.) Ok, maybe you’re studying to be a Spanish translator based on the Marc Anthony song? Lol. Love that song btw!

    ACOTAR is one of my new favorite books. As in, it will be considered my new ‘book precious’. LOL. I will definitely have to read This Song Will Save Your Life! I’ve heard good things!

Leave a Reply

