Top Ten Tuesday: Things I Like When It Comes to Romances

top ten tuesday key

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by Broke and Bookish. This week’s theme is the top ten things I like when it comes to romances. I decided to keep it positive this week and do things I like, instead of what I don’t. Although that might be another post later 😉

  1. The perfect amount of slow burn. I don’t know if there’s an exact science to this, but I like all the build-up. I just know that it’s not too early in the book (like before the 20% mark) and it’s not too late. One of my pet peeves is reading an entire book of buildup and then never seeing the couple together! But when it’s done right, it’s sooooooo good. (Example: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han) 
  2. Friends or enemies that turn into a relationship. Whether they’ve been friends for years or they’ve always hated each other, there’s just something really intriguing about these relationships. (Example: Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins, Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins)
  3. Dual points of view. Watching the girl fall for the guy and the guy fall for the girl at the same time…*sigh.* It really makes everything so much more well rounded and sweet. (Example: Crash Into You by Katie McGarry)
  4. Relationships that begin on a field trip/road trip/out of the country. It’s so much fun when they go somewhere, with the beautiful setting and the romance together. It makes a great combo. (Example: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill, Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn)
  5. The forbidden relationships (to a point). When they are overdone, it’s not good at all. However, when there is just enough, it works nicely. There’s some tension there and the problem to overcome which can help push the story along too. (Example: Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins, Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman)
  6. Really nice gentlemen. Maybe it’s just a Southern thing, but guys with a lot of that good old cordiality (is that a word?) and manners…it’s super cute. (Example: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before…again, Panic by Lauren Oliver)
  7. Workplace relationships. Coffee shops, grocery stores, whatever. When it’s two co-workers, it’s almost like #4. Except with career options.(Example: Love and Other Perishable Items by Laura Buzo)
  8. Accepting couples. When one has something quirky or weird they like to do, it’s really nice to see the other one accept it and try to involve themselves within that world too. (Example: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell)
  9. Couples that so obviously have chemistry that it pops off the page. People might think it’s weird for shipping couples, but some of them seem SO REAL. It makes it so much better when they compliment each other. (Example: This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner, Obsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout)
  10. Funny couples. The ones that are sarcastic, witty. The banter that is really flirty. I wish I could always come up with cute stuff like that in the moment. (Example: The Selection by Kiera Cass)

What are some of your favorite relationships? Or things you really like when reading them?

name

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Things I Like When It Comes to Romances

  1. I love a sloooowwww burn too, but I agree that if nothing ever comes of it, I get really annoyed. I didn’t even think of number 3, but I like that too! Might have to check out Crash Into You if it’s like that. I’ve got witty banter on my list too. I love some flirty sarcasm. Lol.
    My TTT!

    • Awesome! I hate when the book ends right as the relationship starts…I just need around another fifty pages or so! Crash Into You is really great for the dual POVs, as well as the rest of Katie McGarry’s books. That one is my favorite though.

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: For Readers Who Like Alternating POVs | Neon Yeti Reads

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: My Favorite TTTs! | Neon Yeti Reads

Leave a Reply

