Vampire Academy Movie Review

vampire academy

Vampire Academy (2014)

Based on the book by Richelle Mead

Directed by Mark Waters; Written by Daniel Waters; Starring Zoey Deutch, Lucy Fry, and Danila Kozlovsky

b38bc-coollogo_com-221351400Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, half human-half vampire, a guardian of the Moroi, peaceful, mortal vampires living discreetly within our world. Her calling is to protect the Moroi from bloodthirsty, immortal Vampires, the Strigoi.

029c6-coollogo_com-9181998

It’s been a while since I read this book, but this movie brought back all the original feelings and emotions I had during my first read and really makes me want to continue with this series (I’m still on book 3)!

I really loved Zoey Deutch’s portrayal of Rose. Rose can be a character that some people like and some don’t. She really has many character flaws, which makes her human. Personally, I have never found myself one way or the other, but I liked her in the movie more than I did in the first book. Her lines, thanks to the amazing script, are always so funny! It brings out her character and fleshes her out. Lissa was still just okay for me. There was some disconnection for me with Lucy Fry, but I think that would get better if this movie series continues on into Frostbite.

The script was great! They really got all the character’s personalities down without having too much leaving from the main plot. It followed along with the main themes of the book well too. The movie was always interesting and I wanted to keep watching. The action scenes were also really well done. There was just enough action and humor, so the combination worked really well together. The world building, while it could be different, was a little bit iffy. I understood everything, but that was probably just because I read the book already.

Overall, I enjoyed this movie. While there were a few problems I had, it was fun and enjoyable! I really hope that they continue on with this movie series.

938bc-pawprint d8ee9-pawprint 38c69-pawprint 8dfc7-pawprint

Leave a Reply

