Rumble by Ellen Hopkins Review

Rumble

Rumble by Ellen Hopkins

Published Simon & Schuster August 26 2014

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Format: I received an egalley arc from the publisher. This did not change the content of my review or my opinion of the book in any way. Thank you to Edelweiss and Simon and Schuster!

Buy this book: Amazon

b38bc-coollogo_com-221351400Eighteen-year-old Matthew Turner doesn’t believe in much. Not in family—his is a shambles, after his brother’s suicide. Not in so-called friends who turn their backs when the going gets rough. Certainly not in some omnipotent master of heaven and earth, no matter what his girlfriend, Hayden, thinks. In fact, he’s sick of arguing with her about faith. Matt is a devout atheist, unafraid of some Judgment Day designed by decidedly human power brokers to keep the masses in check. He works hard, plays hard, and plans on checking out the same way. But a horrific accident—one of his own making—plunges Matt into a dark, silent place where the only thing he can hear is a rumble, and eventually, a voice. And what it says will call everything Matt has ever disbelieved into question.

029c6-coollogo_com-9181998I don’t even know where to start with this review…I’m a little bit heartbroken and exhausted over this book. It’s a five hundred and sixty page book that I sat down and read in one day. And I’m still a little shaken after reading all of this AMAZING BOOK. It’s my first Ellen Hopkins novel, but I am now so ready for more! Seriously, I’m going to need more of her writing as soon as I recover from this book.

The writing in this book was beautiful. Matthew was such a complex character. The main point of this book starts with his struggle over religion, intensified by his girlfriend, Hayden. Hayden is a devout Christian who believes in all the little minor details of the Bible. Matthew is an atheist with a lot of hate for religion. His younger brother killed himself – of which is revealed in a really sad, heartbreaking way that had me crying by the end of the scene – after being bullied by a group of these ‘Christian’ people. This topic of religion is so hard to balance, but I feel like it was covered really nicely. As a religious person myself, I felt that Hayden and her youth group weren’t acting like really Christians. They were so mean and it was really hard to read about these scenes! But at the same time, they were written so well and covered really nicely.

Matthew and Hayden have a very complex relationship, especially with these religious differences. Personally, I really did not like Hayden. She just annoyed me so much, especially when Matthew was pushing himself so hard to love her. And then there is Alexa, who I felt a little iffy about too. Matthew really liked her, so I felt like I should, but I had some problems with her relationship to Matthew. He also had a very complicated at home life. Both of his parents had so many problems, but I liked where they ended up. It was hard to read about, but if anything, I think they made so much progress throughout the book.

Overall, I loved where this book started and where it ended. The end of the book had me absolutely freaking out, I just could not believe what was happening. But when it all was over, I appreciated what happened. I think it gave Matthew some focus and light onto what was happening in his life. This was such an amazing book. All of the characters came so far. This book really makes you think and it has such a good message.

63169-pawprint63169-pawprint63169-pawprint63169-pawprint63169-pawprint

2 thoughts on “Rumble by Ellen Hopkins Review

  1. Haha yes her books are super long. But I find they go really quick bc of the verse writing and how the poems are formatted. I really enjoyed this one too and Hayden irritated me a few time, too. I loved Matthew’s voice though he was so genuine and full of emotion. You should def read her Crank series. If you liked this one you’ll love that series even more! It’s incredible!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Recap: August 18 2014 | Neon Yeti Reads

Leave a Reply

