Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins Review

Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1)

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (Anna and the French Kiss #1)

Published Speak 2010

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Format: Paperback from the library

b38bc-coollogo_com-221351400Can Anna find love in the City of Light?

Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her coworker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year. But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken —and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she’s waiting for?

029c6-coollogo_com-9181998I have been recommended to read this book for so long and I’m so happy I finally got around to reading it! I finished it in just a day. I have seen mostly good reviews, but also some okay ones, so I was excited to see what I would think. It turned out that this is one of my favorite new romances!

Anna was a great main character. She’s super quirky and awkward, which I really appreciated. I literally laughed out loud at some of her funny moments as she travels through Paris, deals with her feelings, and learns about her new life at boarding school. She wasn’t a perfect character, or one with so many traumatic flaws or stories. Anna has some problems with her father for making money off of cancer romance novels – something that I had never thought about before, but it really made sense. She didn’t look perfect either. Anna wore pajamas when she met with St. Clair and didn’t constantly talk about her looks. She was just a great main character.

The main part of this book was really the romance, which for me, was perfect. Anna and St. Clair instantly had sparks from the beginning and I loved seeing how that developed. Anna got a little weird and complain-y towards the end though. It seemed deserved with everything that was happening, but really the explanation was quite simple. There were so many cute moments between them that I had to go back and reread. It was like reading about love and it was adorable.

I really liked the setting in Paris. It brought a really cool layer to the novel that separates it from the average romance. The boarding school in Paris sounded really cool. I liked all the descriptions of the various locations around the city as Anna went out to explore. It also took us through all of the seasons, so there were multiple fun settings of Paris. 

Overall, I really enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss! It was such a cute romance that I thoroughly enjoyed. I can’t wait to read the next book. 

63169-pawprint 8dfc7-pawprint 38c69-pawprint d8ee9-pawprint 938bc-pawprint

2 thoughts on “Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins Review

  1. I really enjoyed Anna too! 🙂 She’s hilarious and super entertaining. Not to mention Etienne. 🙂 Great review!

    P.S. And the third book is coming out soon!! 😀

Leave a Reply

