Guardian by Alex London Review

Guardian (Proxy, #2)

Guardian by Alex London (Proxy #2)

Published Philomel 2014

Genre: Young Adult Dystopian

Format: Hardback from the library

b38bc-coollogo_com-221351400The pulse-pounding sequel to Proxy! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

In the new world led by the Rebooters, former Proxy Syd is the figurehead of the Revolution, beloved by some and hated by others. Liam, a seventeen-year-old Rebooter, is Syd’s bodyguard and must protect him with his life. But armed Machinists aren’t the only danger.

People are falling ill—their veins show through their skin, they find it hard to speak, and sores erupt all over their bodies. Guardians, the violent enforcers of the old system, are hit first, and the government does nothing to help. The old elites fall next, and in the face of an indifferent government, Syd decides it’s up to him to find a cure . . . and what he discovers leaves him stunned.

This heart-stopping thriller is packed with action, adventure, and heroics. Guardian will leave you breathless until the final page.

A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship—just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz’s Alex Rider series, James Dashner’s Maze Runner, Patrick Ness’s Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story.

029c6-coollogo_com-9181998

I LOVED the first book in this series Proxy. It was one of my favorite reads of last year and this was one of my most highly anticipated sequels of the year. Sadly, this book didn’t live up to all the hype I was giving it. It started with some problems remembering what happened in the first book. It jumps right into the action, with all kinds of nicknames for groups and people – none of which I remembered. I finally was able to get into it around page fifty, but it still kind of halted the reading experience.

This book takes a really big twist away from the events of Proxy (at least from what I remembered). It seemed like a totally different series. Not that it’s necessarily a bad thing, but it threw me a little bit. This book is not nearly as action packed as the first one. The main problem in this book is an illness that is spreading from turning off the network at the end of the first book and Syd is trying to find a way to undo the previous events to cure everyone. It still keeps a quick moving plot with lots of twists and turns, but it seemed to be missing something.

I also really missed Knox as a character. We did have a little bit of a replacement for him in Liam, Syd’s bodyguard. Liam was an okay character. He just seemed a little bit too soft for my tastes. Liam just wasn’t as good as Knox and just made me want Knox back even more! Marie was still fun and one of my favorite characters. She really grew in this book as a part of the illness. Syd was okay. In the first book, I always liked Knox more. Syd didn’t really seem to be up to the challenge throughout the book and I just kept wanting him to grow to be Yovel.

I did really like how the two books intertwined. There are some flashbacks with Knox that I enjoyed and the locations were all places from Proxy that I remembered. It ended very much in the same way it began, which I really liked.

The ending was a little upsetting because it kind of just – stopped. There was no conclusion, no last goodbye. It just seemed like the book ended without any type of real conclusion. It reminded me of what happened in Requiem  by Lauren Oliver – how it just stopped.

Overall, this book was okay. It wasn’t the epic sequel I had been hoping for, due to some constituency problems, but many others have enjoyed it! I would suggest picking up this duology and reading them back to back.

38c69-pawprint 63169-pawprint 8dfc7-pawprint

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s