Sweet Reckoning by Wendy Higgins Review

Sweet Reckoning (The Sweet Trilogy, #3)

Sweet Reckoning by Wendy Higgins (Sweet #3)

Published HarperTeen 2014

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal

Format: Paperback from the library

Buy this book: AmazonBarnes & Noble

b38bc-coollogo_com-221351400It’s time.

Evil is running rampant and sweet Anna Whitt is its target. Nobody knows when or how the Dukes will strike, but Anna and her Nephilim allies will do anything necessary to rid the earth of the demons and their oppressive ways.

The stakes are higher than ever, and Anna is determined that the love she feels will be her strength, not a liability. But trying to protect the ones she loves while running for her life and battling demonic forces proves to be perilous—especially as faces are changing and trust is fleeting. When the Duke of Lust sends Anna’s great love, Kaidan Rowe, to work against her, Anna must decide how much she’s prepared to risk.

In the most sensual and fast-paced installment yet, Sweet Reckoning brings all the beloved Neph together one last time to fight for their freedom.

029c6-coollogo_com-9181998I am kind of still in shock that I just finished this series. Just a couple of months ago, I picked up the first book because it had been sitting on my TBR for way too long…and then I just had to read the second one…and then I waited for this last one. I put off reading this so it wouldn’t be over. But then I heard about the spinoff being written from Kaidan’s point of view, and I was a little more okay with this.

The first two books in this series were so good…and I think was just a little bit less than the other two. It wasn’t a bad ending and I didn’t hate it, but it just didn’t feel the same as reading the other two. First, there was a whole lot less romantic/sensual scenes (contrary to the summary) than the other two books, especially the second one. I actually liked this for the most part. It showed that Kaidan and Anna’s relationship was growing. I felt a little uncomfortable with where it went in this book (if you read it, you know. trying to avoid spoilers here!), but I liked that it went beyond the lust-y relationship that it could come off as in Sweet Peril. Kaidan’s character was still so great. I love him. SO HAPPY he is getting his own point of view. YAYYYYYY!!!

Anna has really come so far since the beginning of the series. Of course, I could guess how it was going to end (and it did end that way) but it was still fun to get there. There were no big plot shockers. It just went straight to where it has been building since Sweet Evil. I did like the minor plots that the other characters went on though. Jay got such a huge part of this book, as did Marna and Ginger. I love all three of those characters, so I was happy to see more of them. Kope, Zania, and Blake were all back too. They didn’t contribute too much to the storyline this time, but it was good to see the whole gang together again. (Although if Anna was going to refer to them as allies one more time, I was going to slap her. Through the book. She said it so many times!!)

The last big scene was really nice. I think the people that died were not expected, but they were fulfilled. No one died without reason, although I would have liked to see a bit more sadness over the deaths. They were kind of just shoved aside in the moment. The epilogue was sweet, although it took place only five years later…I just felt like everyone got their life together a little bit too quickly. Maybe not. I don’t know what happens post college.

I think my main problem with this book was that it felt really rushed to get to the end, but then it just kind of fell off without a big deal. That last battle scene should have been longer and more dramatic than it was. And the whole first part of the book just dragged on a little bit too long. These books are always quick, fun reads. I wasn’t expecting for this to suddenly switch, but the other books are paced a little bit better. There was really only one major part in the entire first section of the book that really mattered to the plot.

Anyway, overall, I really suggest this series! It’s really fun and the romance is great. While it’s not too big on the paranormal, there are some really unique aspects to the angels/demons concept that’s been around. The first book is Sweet Evil if you want to get started with this really fun series!

8dfc7-pawprint8dfc7-pawprint8dfc7-pawprint8dfc7-pawprint

Leave a Reply

