June Movie Reviews

In June, I was really busy so I only watched two movies! Here are my reviews for both of them:

Romeo & Juliet (2013) Poster

Romeo and Juliet (2013)

I just started watching this movie on Netflix randomly one day. I have read Romeo and Juliet and seen the 1968 version (with Olivia Hussey). Anyway, I wasn’t a huge fan of this adaption. Hailee Steinfeld (Juliet) didn’t really sell me on Juliet. She just wasn’t the type of character I was used to her being. I think Douglas Booth did okay as Romeo, but I liked him better than Juliet. Other than that, this was just the basic story. It was told (I think) with an adaption of Shakespeare’s play. Not sure if they took exact quotes or what they cut out because it’s been a while since I read the play. Overall, I just wasn’t a huge fan of this movie. Romeo and Juliet is a hard play to pull off, mostly because of the intense amount of insta-love, but I didn’t really like this version.

4b94f-pawprint4b94f-pawprint

Belle (2013) Poster

Belle (2014)

This movie was really interesting. It’s a historical movie about slavery in England, so it has all those elements of British movies – the gowns and the accents and the wigs. I really liked all the costuming and set design. I wasn’t totally sure what to expect from this movie, but I liked it. It did get VERY dramatic, often overly dramatic, but I liked the historical aspects to the story. Most of it seems to be based in fact from research after the movie as well. Overall, it was a good story. Like I said, the acting gets very dramatic and feels a little awkward to watch sometimes. It’s really enjoyable though.

38c69-pawprint38c69-pawprint38c69-pawprintd8ee9-pawprint

 

That’s it for June! What did you see and did you enjoy it? I still haven’t seen the Fault In Our Stars…

Leave a Reply

