May Movie Reviews

Today, I am going to be reviewing all the movies I watched in May, so let’s just get started:

The Help (2011) Poster

The Help (2011)

I recently read and reviewed this book, which I loved, so I had high expectations for this movie to be everything that the book was for me. And it totally delivered! I loved seeing this story just about as much as I loved reading about the lives of these incredible women in the South. All of the actresses did an amazing job with each of their characters. I really loved seeing Emma Stone as Skeeter because she was able to pull off all the quirks in her character. The setting was also done really nicely and I liked seeing all the influences of the time period. Over all, this is a movie I would love to watch again! It was done really nicely and it lived up to the book for me.

8dfc7-pawprint8dfc7-pawprint8dfc7-pawprint8dfc7-pawprint8dfc7-pawprint

Saving Mr. Banks (2013) Poster

Saving Mr. Banks (2013)

I have wanted to see this movie since it was released but I just never got around to it. I finally rented it and really enjoyed this movie! Emma Thompson did a great job as P.L. Travers, author of Mary Poppins. Her character was so funny with all of her specifications about the movie version of her book (which seems to come at such a good time with all the book to movie adaptations. More authors need to be like her!). I also really liked the Sherman Brothers and Tom Hanks as Walt Disney. It was great to see how everything fell together to make the movie that so many of us (including me!) have grown up loving. The only thing I didn’t like were the flashbacks to her earlier life. Although I understood their meaning about Mr. Banks, I didn’t understand how some of them played in, so they should have been explained a little more.

8dfc7-pawprint8dfc7-pawprint8dfc7-pawprint8dfc7-pawprint

Maleficent (2014) Poster

Maleficent (2014)

This was one of my most anticipated movies of 2014 (I have the trailer memorized…) and I’m really sad to say that it left me a little disappointed! I think my main problem with this movie was that Maleficent wasn’t evil. I know that may sound a little strange, but it seemed like they softened her story and everything that they could do with an evil character. Finding out that it was rated PG was the first thing that threw me when going into the movie. I thought I was going into a dark movie about some evil villainous character, but I ended up with an almost cute retelling of Sleeping Beauty. I appreciated the message about different perspectives and evil, however I think it would have been done better with more risks dealing with how dark they could push Maleficent’s character. That being said, I LOVED Angelia Jolie as Maleficent and Elle Fanning as Aurora. They both killed their respective roles (in a good way) and it was so much fun watching them. I also really enjoyed seeing all the special effects included in the movie. It was a beautiful film and there were so many times that I just wanted stills from the screen.

63169-pawprint63169-pawprint63169-pawprint

Those were all the movies I saw this month! What did you see and how did you like it?

One thought on “May Movie Reviews

  1. I’ll be watching Saving Mr. Banks soon when I do Mary Poppins for my Project Disney on the blog. So I am looking forward to it. Maleficent wasn’t great and should’ve been rated even PG13. I loved the book the Help and the movie did a great job!

Leave a Reply

