The Fairytale Survey

The Fairytale Survey was created by Mel at the Daily Prophecy! This is a really fun tag based around fairytales, so let’s get started!


PART 1. CLASSIC PRINCESSES.

Pinocchio – The boy whose nose grows when he lies.
Is there are book you lie about, because you feel ashamed for liking it?
Not really…there are definitely books I feel ashamed for not reading yet though. 
Beauty and the beast – The girl who fell in love with personality.
Which book do you love that has a hideous cover?
Hate List by Jennifer Brown. Seriously…the cover is absolutely hideous. Just look at it. 
 
Snow white – Hunted down for her beauty.
Do you ever buy a book based on the cover alone and if so, what is the last one?
I don’t normally do this because I have very limited book buying space, but I think the last time was Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan. I have no idea what this book is even about.
 
Sleeping beauty – Cursed to sleep, awakened by true loves kiss.
What is your favorite book couple?
As of right now – Finnick and Annie is the first one that comes to mind (from Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins). They are just so cute and I loved their relationship! 
 
Little Mermaid – Gave up on her old life for love.
Do you ever branch out to new genres or do you like to stick with the ones you know and love? If you try new things out, what is the latest book?
In recent years, I have been branching out so much that I might have found a new favorite genre (contemporary whereas I used to read solely dystopia or action). I guess my most recent new branch has been adult fiction and my most recent adult book I read was The Help by Kathryn Stockett
 

Cinderella – Who lost her shoe after midnight.
What is the last book that made you stay up all night?
172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad. I could not stop reading until I finished this book and then after, I had a major freakout. It was just so good!  

Rapunzel – locked up in a tower.
What is the worst book you’ve read last month?
I think that would have to be Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, which I actually just finished. I hated this book, everything from the writing to the characters was just off for me. 


PART 2. MIX-MATCH.

Aladdin – The poor boy who found a genie.
What is the latest book treasure/gem you found?
I really love Sketchy by Olivia Samms, a mystery series that is so unlike anything in the young adult world right now! 

Alice in Wonderland – The girl who fell through a rabbit’s hole. 
Which book made you really feel like you landed in another world?
Cress by Marissa Meyer. I love the whole Lunar Chronicles series, but the world building and various locations really made this one a stand out for world building. 

East of the sun and west of the moon – where a girl embarks on a journey to save her love.
Who is one of your favorite kick-ass heroines?
My mind immediately jumps to Saba from Blood Red Road by Moira Young.

The Frog Prince – where an enchanted prince becomes human again.
What is a book you thought you would hate, but end up loving?
Definitely Across the Universe by Beth Revis. This book is set in space which threw me for the plot a little, but I ended up really liking it.  

Hansel and Gretel – left alone in the woods and captured by a witch.
Which duo (sister/sister, brother/sister) is your favorite and why?

While Tess and Day aren’t exactly brother/sister, I really like their relationship in Champion by Marie Lu.

Little Red Riding Hood – almost eaten by a wolf dressed as her grandmother.

What book disappointed you after falling in love with the cover and blurb?

The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey. It had so much hype in addition to a great cover and blurb, but I really did not like this book! 

Rumpelstilskin – nobody knows his name.
Which book do you love that doesn’t get enough attention?
The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa. This is such a great twist on vampires and one of my favorite young adult series. 

Have you read any of the books in my answers? I’d love to read more of this survey too, so let me know what answers you would have to these questions. Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “The Fairytale Survey

  1. I don’t really like the cover of Hate List either… but I loved that book!! Sketchy has been on my to-read list for a while now and I always forget about it!! It does sound really good and I need to do it soon. And I just got Cress for Mother’s Day and can’t WAIT to get to it!! Love your picks 🙂

  2. Ooh! This post definitely sounds fun. I love Cress by Marissa Meyer and I know what you mean. The Immortal Rules is pretty great vampire book. 🙂 I love the Legend series! Yeek! Can’t get over them! Although I ship Day and June a lot more. But I understand the whole brother/sister relationship Tess and Day kind of shares. Great post!

    Cindy @ In This World of Books..

Leave a Reply

