April Movie Reviews

These are all the movies that I watched this April! All four of them have already been out for a while, but I have finally gotten around to watching them after I read the book:

Image

Twilight (2008)

63169-pawprint63169-pawprint63169-pawprint

I finally saw this after reading the book! I really did not like this movie and the book was definitely better! The voice overs were so awkward to listen to, as well as some of the acting (the scene in which Edward calls Bella ‘his own brand of heroin’ had me rolling in laughter). There were a lot of really awkward encounters between Edward and Bella especially. I also did like like Taylor Lautner as Jacob, although I have heard he does a better job in the sequels. I wasn’t looking for an exact version of the book, but most of it did seem to follow along. I loved Stephenie Meyer’s little cameo!

Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close (2011) Poster

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

63169-pawprint63169-pawprint63169-pawprint63169-pawprint

This movie was so good! It really helped clear up some of the points in the book for me, especially the problem I had with the alternating points of view. I loved seeing Oskar’s story play out across the streets of New York. The filming was all done beautifully and it kept that same sense of wonder and childlikeness that the book had. The acting was also really well and I loved the entire cast. There were many things that were cut from the book, so it wasn’t an exact adaption, but it had the same effect on me when it was over that the book did.

Batman Begins (2005) Poster

Batman Begins (2005)

63169-pawprint38c69-pawprint8dfc7-pawprint8dfc7-pawprint8dfc7-pawprint

I know – this movie has been out for so long and I had yet to see it! Well, I finally got around to my first superhero movie outside the Marvel franchises and I really enjoyed this, a lot more than I thought I would. In the beginning, I was a little confused with all the jumps from Gotham City to Japan and back and forth, but once that stopped, the movie was so much fun. I liked seeing his origin story, especially the reasoning behind the bats, and how everything went down. I’m so excited to watch the second one in this franchise! The action scenes were done really well and I really enjoyed the cast.

Mean Girls (2004) Poster

38c69-pawprint38c69-pawprint38c69-pawprint38c69-pawprint

Another long overdue movie! Seriously, it’s ten years old now. This was pretty much exactly what I expected it to be, after seeing it quoted on Tumblr so many times. It was really funny in a weird sort of way. Watching it in a theater would probably be really uncomfortable for me. I did like how they portrayed everyone in the school as well. It really made sense how it was filmed and how the script was done. And it was so weird to see all these actors younger!

One thought on “April Movie Reviews

Leave a Reply

