Dare You To by Katie McGarry Review

Dare You To (Pushing the Limits, #2)

Dare You To by Katie McGarry (Pushing the Limits, #2)

Published Harlequin Teen 2013

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Format: Hardback from the library

Buy this book: AmazonBarnes & Noble

b38bc-coollogo_com-221351400Ryan lowers his lips to my ear. “Dance with me, Beth.”

“No.” I whisper the reply. I hate him and I hate myself for wanting him to touch me again….

“I dare you…”

If anyone knew the truth about Beth Risk’s home life, they’d send her mother to jail and seventeen-year-old Beth who knows where. So she protects her mom at all costs. Until the day her uncle swoops in and forces Beth to choose between her mom’s freedom and her own happiness. That’s how Beth finds herself living with an aunt who doesn’t want her and going to a school that doesn’t understand her. At all. Except for the one guy who shouldn’t get her, but does….

Ryan Stone is the town golden boy, a popular baseball star jock-with secrets he can’t tell anyone. Not even the friends he shares everything with, including the constant dares to do crazy things. The craziest? Asking out the Skater girl who couldn’t be less interested in him.

But what begins as a dare becomes an intense attraction neither Ryan nor Beth expected. Suddenly, the boy with the flawless image risks his dreams-and his life-for the girl he loves, and the girl who won’t let anyone get too close is daring herself to want it all….

029c6-coollogo_com-9181998I love Katie McGarry. She has killed it yet again with another super cute, adorable romance that I loved from beginning to end. This is turning into one of my favorite series written by one of my favorite authors.

Beth is such a different character from the ones we normally see in a YA romance. She has a troubled past, one we got to learn about in ‘Pushing the Limits,’ and this really influences everything about her. I love her views about love and relationships. Her backstory is so unique and develops beautifully throughout the book. Then, we have Ryan. I loved him even more than I loved Beth. He has problems with his controlling parents who kicked out his gay brother. His chapters were definitely my favorite. I loved reading from his point of view.

The story was also different from most romances. It starts with this really fun banter between Beth and Ryan as they are both so strong headed and confident in everything they do. The dares were a really fun part of the story that I also really enjoyed. As their relationship developed, I really enjoyed how it went really fast and then they decided to take it slower. It was so much fun! I also really liked the writing style. The dual points of view are one of my favorite parts of Katie McGarry’s books because they give so much insight into both of the characters. Not only did I fall in love with Ryan and Beth together, but I also fell in love with them separately. And I loved seeing Noah, Isaiah, and Echo again.

This book was so adorable. I loved it so much! All of the stories being intertwined together is just so awesome. This entire world is one of my favorite in young adult romance right now. I’m so excited to read the next book, which is Isaiah’s story, and I am so happy we got to learn more about Beth. Also, meeting Ryan. Ah…I have yet another book boyfriend.

8dfc7-pawprint938bc-pawprint4b94f-pawprint4b94f-pawprint938bc-pawprint

One thought on “Dare You To by Katie McGarry Review

Leave a Reply

