Discussion: Unfinished Books

Now, I love reading and it makes me so sad when I have to leave a book unfinished. But sometimes, it just has to happen. Now, this is a fairly new concept for me since I started book blogging. I never really thought about putting books away when they weren’t working. But now, I just don’t really want to waste my time reading a book I’m not enjoying. Here are a few of my ideas when it comes to DNF books:

1. I always give them a fair shot. If I feel like I didn’t give them a good chance (I was biased/in a bad mood/knowingly not being in the right mood for that book), I’ll reshelf them as ‘tbr’ and come back to them later. If I gave it an open chance and it failed, it goes to the DNF pile.

2. Sometimes, I’ll finish the first book in a series and not continue on. This is what happens most often. Sometimes, I’ll look up spoilers if it’s the writing getting in the way, but it’s normally characters that I don’t care about anyway.

3. The hype isn’t too crazy and I’m just not thrilled to read the book. If a book has crazy good reviews, I’ll probably push through it a little longer.

Personally, I think it’s totally okay to not finish a book if it’s really not what you’re into. Besides, we read for fun, right? Let me know what you think of not finishing books!

Leave a Reply

