Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor Review

Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #1)

Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

Published Little Brown 2012

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Format: paperback

Other books in this series: Days of Blood and Starlight, Dreams of Gods and Monsters

Buy this book: AmazonBarnes & Noble

b38bc-coollogo_com-221351400

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.


In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages–not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When one of the strangers–beautiful, haunted Akiva–fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

029c6-coollogo_com-9181998Welp…this book was not the best. Like at all. Ugh…I hate when books have a lot of hype and then I end up not liking them. It makes my opinions so hard to form and this review so hard to write. This book does seem to have mixed reviews, so I guess I’m on the bad end of it.

The first part – I totally loved. It was really good and I liked where the world building and Karou was going. And then it slowly started going downhill until I hit like page 300 or so, then skipped to the end. I can’t really tell you much more because of spoilers, but people who have read the book will know what I am talking about. Anyway, the end of this book just got really bad. I skimmed it, skipped some of it, and was just really not a fan. It started going that way around the time she met Akiva, who until then, I really liked. After that, she just totally became in love with him and all the others characters just left.

I didn’t really like Karou as a character either. I didn’t connect with her, which may have been because of the third person POV. I really liked her human friend, but other than that, I really did not like any of them. Or the romance. She just gave up everything for him, including her friends and her life in the Czech Republic (which was my favorite part of the book). There was just nothing interesting. The world was way too complex and introduced so quickly I couldn’t really catch onto any of it. All of the names got really confused.

So overall, I really didn’t like this book and I won’t be continuing on with this series, although I was so looking forward to it and the hype. Ahh…

So what did you think of this book? Did you love it or hate it?

63169-pawprint63169-pawprint

4 thoughts on “Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor Review

  1. Pingback: April Wrap Up | Neon Yeti Reads

  2. Pingback: The Fairytale Survey | Neon Yeti Reads

Leave a Reply

