Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma Review

Forbidden Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

Published Simon Pulse 2007

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Format: Hardback from the library

Other books by this author: Hurt, A Note of Madness

Buy this book: AmazonBarnes & Noble b38bc-coollogo_com-221351400Seventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As de facto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives ;and the way they understand each other so completely ;has also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right. As the novel careens toward an explosive and shocking finale, only one thing is certain: A love this devastating has no happy ending. 029c6-coollogo_com-9181998   Wow…that was one of the most shocking, heart wrenching, insane reading experiences I have ever had. Seriously. Normally, I write my reviews as soon as I finish the book (close back cover, hop on WordPress, type review) to get the most emotional and detailed reviews. But this time, I could not even conjure up words for anything. I went for a run, worked out a little, and now I am back to type this review. Let’s try to explain my feelings for this book. This book is about – plain and simple here – incest. That’s a little bit disturbing for most people and may even turn you off to this book. I picked it up mostly because I had seen a lot of people talking about reading this book or hauling it. These ‘realistic fiction’ or darker contemporary are my favorites when they are done well. It’s like reading a punch in the gut and totally enjoying it. Lochan and Maya’s relationship was totally understandable. I know, that makes me a little uncomfortable too. When I picked up the book, I expected to start in the middle of the relationship. Instead, the reader gets to see it develop and grow until the way until the end of the book, which is most definitely harder for the author. Suzuma wrote it beautifully. There were some times when it did halt my reading of the book, but it wasn’t constantly mentioned. There were times when both of them were disturbed by what they were doing, when they were afraid, but also times when they really didn’t care. And their emotions totally made sense all the way throughout. The story is obviously very mature and there are a couple of mature scenes as well. The center is the romance between these two brother and sister, but there is also the story of their really bad family situation. Their mother is so annoying and she always leaves them for her boyfriend. All of their younger siblings are also really understandable and I really liked reading about the ways they all reacted to various situations. It’s a long book, but it never feels boring. The whole point of the book is so unique and interesting. It’s a taboo topic that most people never talk about (which is even mentioned in the book). And it really makes you think about incest and what that means and it questions love so many times throughout the novel. Even on a bigger scale than just this relationship, it talks about what it means to love and if love can have boundaries and who we fall in love with and why we choose them. It’s so thought provoking. However, I did feel like the ending was a little predictable.

63169-pawprint63169-pawprint63169-pawprint63169-pawprint

Beneath this read more shall be spoilers, because I really want to discuss the end of the book! So, if you have read Forbidden, keep reading. If you haven’t, go read this book! I felt like the ending was a little predictable, as you read above. I pretty much knew that their mother would come home and be the one to catch them in the act. I didn’t expect Kit to be the one to turn them in, especially seeing how his relationship with Lochan had progressed over the book. I guess it was understandable why he did it, but I really was never too sure about his character. And then…to Lochan’s demise… I knew someone was going to commit suicide. Either Lochan or Maya. I was waiting for it throughout the last chapters, especially when he went to jail and he found out that Maya had said it was mutual consent. However, I still don’t really understand his reasoning for it. That last scene was really nice with him, although I felt like I was rushing through it to see where it would all build up. When I turned that last page in the chapter, I was crying. It was so beautiful to see how he had developed to talking and making friends all with Maya by his side. And I am so happy Maya didn’t kill herself. When she was thinking about it, I was like “don’t go pulling a Romeo and Juliet on me now!” She didn’t, thankfully, as I knew she wouldn’t. It would have ruined the book a little for me if she did, just because I didn’t want her to leave all her siblings behind like Lochan wouldn’t have wanted her to. So yeah…I’m still in a little bit of leftover book shock. I shall probably be in a reading slump now. *le sigh*

One thought on “Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma Review

  1. Pingback: April Wrap Up | Neon Yeti Reads

Leave a Reply

