Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Gateway Books/Authors in My Reading Journey

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is my top ten gateway books/authors in my reading journey! These are just books that changed my reading journey and habits along the way.

The City of Ember (Book of Ember, #1)1) City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau – This is the first dystopian book I ever read. It created a love of the genre for me, long before I ever found my next book…

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)2) The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Gosh, this book did a lot for me. It was the first book I ever really truly fangirled over and it threw me into the midst of a widely growing fandom. Fun times…

Thirteen Reasons Why3) Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. The first book I ever cried reading. And I actually enjoyed it so much that I wanted to find another book that would make me cry.

Matched (Matched, #1)4) Matched by Ally Condie. Introducing my year long reading of pretty much just dystopias! This was the first one I read after the Hunger Games.

Insurgent (Divergent, #2)5) Insurgent by Veronica Roth. The first book I ever COULD NOT WAIT to read, but alas, was not published yet. Now, I feel like all I ever do is wait for more books to come out…

Outliers: The Story of Success6) Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell. The first nonfiction book that I ever read for fun. I still would like to read more like this.

The Fault in Our Stars7) The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Now, I didn’t actually like this book, but it showed me a whole new world of contemporary writing. And also that it is okay not to like books everyone else loves.

Seven Minutes in Heaven (The Lying Game, #6)8) Seven Minutes in Heaven by Sara Shepard. This is the first book I ever posted a book review on!

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock9) Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick. All this time, and I finally found another book that made me cry. There are lots more after this, but needless to say, I was very excited to be moved again by a book!

Texas Gothic10) Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore. This is the first book I ever read in the thriller/horror/paranormal genre and I really loved it!

Those are my top ten gateway books! What are some of yours?

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Gateway Books/Authors in My Reading Journey

Leave a Reply

