Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins Review

Image

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Published HarperTeen 2012

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal

Format: Paperback from the library

Other books in this series: Sweet Peril, Sweet Reckoning

Buy this book: AmazonBarnes & Noble

b38bc-coollogo_com-221351400

What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences?

This is the reality for sons and daughters of fallen angels.
Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

Forced to face her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?

029c6-coollogo_com-9181998

I started off thinking that this would be just another angel book. There are so many of them out there that I have stayed away from them for a while. I picked this book up from my library because it has been on my TBR list since forever (it’s almost two years). That’s why I started reading – to get another book off my TBR list. I had almost been thinking about giving up on my hopes of reading this book. And then, I read it. Boy, am I glad I kept this book all this time!

Anna is such an interesting character – half angel and half demon, a combination not normally found in Nephilm. The entire concept of angels was totally unique in this book. The demons are twelve dukes, all having children that do their work for them. It’s a little bit like Percy Jackson with demigods, except these demons are evil and based on six of the seven deadly sins as well as six modern sins. It’s a very interesting setup from the beginning. I loved the romance between Kaidan and Anna. Sure, at times it seemed like it was moving a bit too quickly, but that was one of the most intriguing parts. Was it because of the sinfulness of lust? Or was it real? And it seemed like it could go both ways at the same time. They had a very cool dynamic that I really enjoyed reading. The minor characters were really nice too. I enjoyed reading about the different jobs all the different Nephilm had based on their parents and I wish we saw more of a mixture, something I am hoping for in the second book.

The plot is cool because the first part is about Anna discovering what it means to be a child of a demon and the second part is her dealing with that. Most of the time, this would be split into two books and would get too drawn out, but this was perfectly timed. I really enjoyed the road trip feel of the first part and because it was only with our two main characters, Anna and Kaidan, it was really easy to get to know them without the input of minor characters. The second half was when we met more minor characters and dukes, but kept our relationship with Anna and Kaidan going. This helped balance out the book very nicely.

The writing wasn’t the best ever and this book is more for fun that to take some life lesson from. But it really is fun! I loved the world building and the supernatural elements, although everything had a new twist on top of it! The book really kept me reading and I am very excited to pick up the next two in this trilogy.
d8ee9-pawprint938bc-pawprint 38c69-pawprint63169-pawprint

 

2 thoughts on “Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins Review

  1. Pingback: March Wrap Up | Neon Yeti Reads

  2. Pingback: Sweet Reckoning by Wendy Higgins Review | Neon Yeti Reads

Leave a Reply

